Cycles of the Lights Series

The Cycles of the Lights series follows the primordial souls, En and Il as they immerse themselves into the cosmos of their creation. Battling karmic entanglements, they strive to find their way back to each other.

En and Il have no memory of their primordial identities. They incarnate like the multitude of other souls in the grand universe. The only thing they sense for certain is the inexplicable draw between them.

Each novel in the series follows the mortal lives led by En and Il. As they face exciting trials in their paths, they must remember who they are.

Fall of Ima (Cycles of the Lights, #1)

Meliora lives on the Earth-like planet of Ima where days are idyllic and worries never last. Tension enters the north continent as her father, the King of a prominent sovereignty passes away. Her mother is left with the crown, but shows no interest in ruling. In desperation to find a cure for the hereditary disease that took her husband, Queen Vesper travels off-planet to study sorcery. Magic had long been banned on Ima, leaving desperate questions in her wake. To make matters worse, soon after her departure, Queen Vesper ceases communication.

The lone successor to the throne is teenage Meliora, who feels shy of the task. With her best friend, Jedrek by her side, she musters the strength to lead. Meliora’s reign is short lived as the previous Queen returns after years of silence. Though once close, the woman now wielding magic isn’t the mother she remembers. Includes pen and ink illustrations of scenes by Ava Reiss.

The Seed of Life (Cycles of the Lights, #2)

At age 23, Kameclara achieved her childhood dream: becoming an operative of the Intergalactic Military. They’re deadly effective and highly revered; protecting their home planet, Teroma, is their main task.

Yet, Kameclara always felt it was the stars that called to her, not a sense of duty. Their frozen planet circles the edge of the Ia system, barely hospitable. She’d always felt there must be another place more like home. She longed to find it, and the Intergalactic Military afforded the chance.

Within the first week of becoming green-lit, Kameclara and her team are taken into the fold of the planet’s deepest secrets. They learn their system contains nine planets, not the seven they were taught in school. Hidden deep in their sun’s expansive corona are the planets, Jema, and Ima. As if the news didn’t astound enough, Kameclara is handed her first mission. Instead of traveling outward into the stars, the operatives are headed to Jema, where they have a base.

Along the journey, Kameclara discovers there’s no end to the Intergalactic Military’s secrets. At first they’re told they’re to secure the Jeman base. Then, Kameclara learns of the Seed of Life, an item said to hold the fate of all her people… and the true purpose of their mission.

Vesper’s Curse (Cycles of the Lights, extra)

A novella, whose events occur after Fall of Ima, but before The Seed of Life.

Ivan meets a young victim of human trafficking. Through a heroic act he saves her and many others. Afraid those he crossed might be after him, Ivan moves out of state and establishes a new life. Years wear on and Ivan’s shadowed past eventually catches up. With his wife and daughter abducted, he turns to Agatha as a friend. Can they solve the case before it’s too late?

(Spoiler Alert for Fall of Ima)
At the conclusion of Fall of Ima, Vesper casts a curse on Meliora and Jedrek. This novella is the playing out of the curse.