YA and New Adult Books

Dynasty of Summer: Part One

Summer is daughter to the Emperor’s fourth concubine during the Xia Dynasty. After stumbling upon her half-brother’s corpse, she finds herself faced with dangers she couldn’t begin to understand. As if those troubles weren’t enough, she’s ambushed while traveling to her betrothed’s kingdom. Summer was meant to live in luxury and safety with her new husband, but instead finds herself amongst bandits.

With the aid of her brother from a shared mother, Winter, and friend, Hanming, she navigates her way back home to Zhenxun. Yet once she returns, Summer discovers treachery had been living alongside her in the palace her entire life. It’s not long before she finds herself a target.

Buy it now on Amazon for $16.95

Fall of Ima (Cycles of the Lights, #1)

In the riveting conclusion to the Dynasty of Summer duology, Princess Summer is faced with a crisis. In order to save the imperial capital, Zhenxun, she travels to enemy territory, beseeches her sisters for help, and faces foes. She skirts danger every step of the way. Meanwhile, a power vacuum in Zhenxun calls her back.

… But she can’t go back. Not until she unearths what the Empress has been secretly plotting.

As truths come to light, war is finding itself upon the front steps of Zhenxun. Princess Summer faces inner battles as she prepares for outer ones. Which should rule her decisions: her heart, or vengeance?

Buy it now on Amazon for $18.95

Fall of Ima (Cycles of the Lights, #1)

Meliora lives on the Earth-like planet of Ima where days are idyllic and worries never last. Tension enters the north continent as her father, the King of a prominent sovereignty passes away. Her mother is left with the crown, but shows no interest in ruling. In desperation to find a cure for the hereditary disease that took her husband, Queen Vesper travels off-planet to study sorcery. Magic had long been banned on Ima, leaving desperate questions in her wake. To make matters worse, soon after her departure, Queen Vesper ceases communication.

The lone successor to the throne is teenage Meliora, who feels shy of the task. With her best friend, Jedrek by her side, she musters the strength to lead. Meliora’s reign is short lived as the previous Queen returns after years of silence. Though once close, the woman now wielding magic isn’t the mother she remembers. Includes pen and ink illustrations of scenes by Ava Reiss.

Buy it now on Amazon for $13.99

Vesper’s Curse (Cycles of the Lights, novella)

A novella, whose events occur after Fall of Ima, but before The Seed of Life.

Ivan meets a young victim of human trafficking. Through a heroic act he saves her and many others. Afraid those he crossed might be after him, Ivan moves out of state and establishes a new life. Years wear on and Ivan’s shadowed past eventually catches up. With his wife and daughter abducted, he turns to Agatha as a friend. Can they solve the case before it’s too late?

(Spoiler Alert for Fall of Ima)
At the conclusion of Fall of Ima, Vesper casts a curse on Meliora and Jedrek. This novella is the playing out of the curse.

Buy now on Amazon for $8.99

The Seed of Life (Cycles of the Lights, #2)

At age 23, Kameclara achieved her childhood dream: becoming an operative of the Intergalactic Military. They’re deadly effective and highly revered; protecting their home planet, Teroma, is their main task.

Yet, Kameclara always felt it was the stars that called to her, not a sense of duty. Their frozen planet circles the edge of the Ia system, barely hospitable. She’d always felt there must be another place more like home. She longed to find it, and the Intergalactic Military afforded the chance.

Within the first week of becoming green-lit, Kameclara and her team are taken into the fold of the planet’s deepest secrets. They learn their system contains nine planets, not the seven they were taught in school. Hidden deep in their sun’s expansive corona are the planets, Jema, and Ima. As if the news didn’t astound enough, Kameclara is handed her first mission. Instead of traveling outward into the stars, the operatives are headed to Jema, where they have a base.

Along the journey, Kameclara discovers there’s no end to the Intergalactic Military’s secrets. At first they’re told they’re to secure the Jeman base. Then, Kameclara learns of the Seed of Life, an item said to hold the fate of all her people… and the true purpose of their mission.

Buy it now on Amazon for $18.95

Stillness in the Storm (Cycles of the Lights, #3)

As Kameclara and her friends face off enemies on the planet Jema, they learn about the ancient history of their people. The fate of them all hinges on whether a girl, Isa, can awaken to her past-life memories. Meanwhile, unbeknownst to them, another more dangerous enemy is traversing the stars on their way to steal Isa’s power.

With growing feelings for Stanten, Kameclara struggles to keep focused on their mission: protect Seu and Isa at all costs. Navigating the unfamiliar terrain of planet Jema with magical interference leads to costly mistakes.

In this action-orientated conclusion to Kameclara and Stanten’s incarnations, the Teromans skirt disaster around every corner. When news reaches them of Teroma at an inconvenient time, the operatives struggle to pull together with a battle on the way—one that’ll decide the fate of all those tied to them genetically.

Releasing in February 2023

Bizarre musings of an insomniac… disguised in bite-sized tales.

Ava presents six short stories that stretches the mind in the fantastical. Some will leave you warm and fuzzy, some will make you go, “… Wth?”

Purchase now Amazon for $5.95

For Young Adults

Don’t let the cute cover fool you. An insomniac plagued by strange dreams, Ava Reiss shares them in these short stories. Some may be heartwarming, others are just weird.

Buy on Amazon